Academic calendar

When do classes start, when does the semester end? Dates matter, also when studying at the University of Stuttgart.

 

On this page we list all important dates and deadlines during the fall and spring semesters.
For more detailed information on the application deadlines please see the Application deadlines web page.
The extact enrollment dates will be announced with the admission note. General deadlines can be found on the Enrollment web page.

General semester dates

Re-registration

Re-registration period for the following spring semester (SoSe): January 15 - February 15

Re-registration period for the following fall semester: July 15 - August  15

Leave of absence

An application for a leave of absence is normally due during the re-registration period. See the Leave of Absence page for more on this.

De-registration

As of the end of the fall semester: until March 15

As of the end of the spring semester: until September 15

Registration for examinations

  • For more details on the examinations administered by the Examination Office, see the Registrations Dates page and the Examination Dates page.
  • For any other examinations, please heed the notices on the pages of the individual institutes as well as the postings on their bulletin boards.

The lecture periods of the summer semester 2017

Semester starts

April 1, 2017

Classes start

Monday, April 10, 2017
Please keep in mind the introductory events of the different study programs (available only in German) and of the Student Counseling Center at the start of your studies.

Classes end

July 22, 2017

Semester break/holidays

Break and holidays: 
Easter break: Friday, April 14, 2017 - Monday, April 17, 2017 (inclusive of both dates)
May Day: Monday, May 1, 2017, Ascencion Day: Thursday, May 25, 2017,
Pfingstferien: Tuesday, June 6, 2017 - Saturday, June 10, 2017
Corpus Christi: Thursday, June 15, 2017

Semester ends

September 30, 2017

The lecture periods of the academic year, winter semester 2017/18

Semester starts

October 1, 2017

Classes start

October 16, 2017
Please keep in mind the introductory events of the different study programs (list available only in German) and of the Student Counseling Center at the start of your studies.

Classes end

February 10, 2018

Semester break/holidays

  • Break and holidays: 
    Reformation Day: 31. October 2017, All Saints' Day: 1. November 2017
    Year-end semester break 2017/18: Saturday, December 23, 2017 to Saturday, January 6, 2018 (inclusive of both dates)

Semester ends

March 31, 2018

Preview of upcoming semesters

Semester

SS 2018
  • Classes from:
    Monday, April 9, 2018 to Saturday, July 21, 2018
  • Semester break and holidays:
    Easter Friday, March 30, 2018 - Monday April 2, 2018
    May Day Tuesday, May 1, 2018
    Ascencion Day Thursday, May 10, 2018
    Whitsun break Tuesday, May 22, 2018 – Saturday May 26, 2018
    Coprus Christi Thursday, May 31, 2018
Upcoming Semesters until SS 2019 Semester preview